Feature Rakin Niass

Imaan Magazine’s Feature Artist is Rakin Niass. He was born and bread from the UK,  his mother & father are both from Nigeria. His passion and tribute work is being a Muslim Rapper, a good Muslim example, and staying true to the deen! His flows aren’t about the standard crap of money, cars, hoes, bro’s or standard unrealistic dunya illusions. He has flourished us with his talent in music/art…rapping about current issues of the world, without the false veil that most pretend to portray this world to be.We were able to interview Rakin, diggin a little deeper into the background of this talented Muslim Rapper.

__________________________________________________

How long have you been Muslim? 20 years now
What is your favorite Ayat? Ayat al Kursi ayat 255 in Surah Bakarah (the Cow)

What or who is your biggest inspiration?

 Wow, I have many, but a few are: Malcolm X, Sheikh Ibrahim Niass, Prophet Muhammed (saw) Sheikh Uthman Don Fodio, Sheikh Muhammed Shariff, Imam Tijani Cisse, Sheikh Abdul Hakim Quick, Sheikh Hamza Yusuf.

Name 3 obstacles that you overcame and how did you overcome them?

Before I became Muslim I use to smoke and drink. The deen of Islam helped me to overcome all that. Also, before the deen I use to procrastinate a great deal. But after taking the deen, my time management became much better.

What can we expect in the next year or two from you and your work? Well, I am working on an album presently that should be out before the end of the year. I will keep you posted! I will be working on a new video with Globalfaction real soon. Next month I am preparing to open for Keith Murray. I’m hoping to land a tour later on in the year; I’m just waiting for confirmation. I am also looking to collaborate with a whole leap of people, so if you are interested get in touch.

What do you contribute to the ummah and/or others?

Well, I do a lot of dawah work. I have a weekly circle in my home once a week. I teach Islamic studies at an Islamic Sunday school. I also try to uplift the next generation through my music. I do my best at helping new Muslims that find themselves in difficulties. I had a show on the Islam Channel called “Brothers in the Deen”. I hope to do some more TV work in the near future.

His latest video “New World Order”

What motivated you to express what you see?

To be honest the deen of Islam; once you know the truth you want to inspire others. You want to reach out to others. Also, this is the Sunnah of our prophet Muhammad (saw). Once you have the understanding that this life is a test and we are working for the next life, that is enough for to you focus on helping others.
Walk us through your preparations before you begin to create your work?

I get ideas for tracks everywhere and anywhere: from my experiences that I go through in life; the things I hear and see on the TV; the things I read about. All of this goes into my artistic process. When I get tracks, I start thinking about topics that would go well with the track, and then I start putting them together. I’ve worked with many different producers, one of my favorites is RMS TRSM who is based in France.

________________________________________________

For more video’s of Rakin Niass:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IGA3b4i236g
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wp3kT04V5D4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qPlDzDnYfvY
He also has a mix tape that is free to download http://rakinniass.bandcamp.com
You can also follow him on twitter www.twitter.com/rakinniass
For booking information you can email Rakin at: rakinniass@gmail.com
Rakin’s personal website’s: www.rakinniass.co.uk
www.reverbnation.com/rakinniass
 

                        _________________________________

Shukran to Brother Rakin Niass for his time. Jazaka Allahu Khairan.

Ms. LaLa “Noor” Garcia
 Founder, Editor, Writer
Imaan Magazine (Shedding light on the beauty of Islamic folks! )

To each is a goal in which Allah turns him. The strive together (as in a race) towards all that is good. Wheresoever ye are Allah will bring you together. For Allah hath power over all things” Surah 2:148 (The Qur’an)

Peace and Blessings to you all.

About Imaan Magazine

Alhamdulilah! Imaan=Faith! Faith is everything. We are students of the Qur'an, as well as, well-rounded artist: Writers, Poets, Choreographer, Lyricist, Speakers, Servants of Allah, and more. Our goal is to shed light on upcoming Muslim brothers & sisters: Business Owner's, Artist, Poet's, Writer's, Speaker's, Author's, Service Provider's and more; representing the beauty of Islam. Our voice is our duty and Islam is our deen (way of life), Mash'Allah. We speak because we must. As'salaamu Alaykum wa bakaraktuhu La ilaha illallah View all posts by Imaan Magazine

2 responses to “Feature Rakin Niass

Leave a Reply

